What are the 5 falls in Victoria Falls?


Victoria Falls, located on the border of Zimbabwe and Zambia in southern Africa, is one of the most breathtaking natural wonders in the world. It is known for its towering cliffs, powerful currents, and, of course, its magnificent waterfalls. Victoria Falls is actually made up of a series of waterfalls, each with its own unique character and charm. Here are the five main falls that make up Victoria Falls:

1. The Devil’s Pool

The Devil’s Pool is one of the most famous features of Victoria Falls. It is a naturally formed pool that is located right on the edge of the falls, offering a thrilling and daring experience for visitors. During the dry season, when the water levels are low, it is possible to swim in the pool and even peer over the edge of the waterfall, providing an adrenaline-pumping view that is not for the faint of heart.

2. The Main Falls

The Main Falls are the largest and most impressive of all the falls in Victoria Falls. They stretch across the full width of the Zambezi River, which runs through the falls. The sheer volume and force of the water rushing over the edge create a deafening roar and produce a magnificent spray that can be seen from miles away. The Main Falls are best viewed from various vantage points along the edge of the falls or from a helicopter tour for a truly breathtaking experience.

3. The Rainbow Falls

The Rainbow Falls, also known as the Eastern Cataract, is a section of Victoria Falls where the mist and spray create a beautiful rainbow. This section of the falls provides a stunning display of colors, especially during the early morning or late afternoon when the sun is at the right angle to create vibrant rainbows. Visitors can often witness a double rainbow, enhancing the already magical experience.

4. The Horseshoe Falls

The Horseshoe Falls, as the name suggests, have a distinctive U-shaped curve that resembles a horseshoe. This section of the falls offers a unique perspective and allows visitors to witness the sheer power of the water as it flows through this narrow channel. The Horseshoe Falls are often considered one of the most photogenic sections of Victoria Falls and provide ample opportunities for capturing dramatic and awe-inspiring photographs.

What are the 5 falls in Victoria Falls? Victoria Falls

5. The Boiling Pot

The Boiling Pot is a swirling whirlpool that forms at the base of the falls. It is caused by the powerful currents and the shape of the landscape, creating a mesmerizing spectacle. The Boiling Pot is best viewed from the bottom of the gorge, either by taking a white-water rafting trip or by embarking on a thrilling hike down the steep cliffs. It offers a unique perspective and a chance to witness the raw power of the falls up close.

Victoria Falls is a true natural wonder, and each of these five falls contributes to its overall grandeur and beauty. Whether you’re seeking a thrilling adventure or simply want to immerse yourself in the awe-inspiring beauty of nature, a visit to Victoria Falls and its five falls is an experience you won’t soon forget.

VICTORIA FALLS | Zambia | Zimbabwe | Travel Guide